Upcoming 2014-15 Invitational Tournaments Hosted By League Members

Jan. 30-31
Winston Churchill Boys

Feb. 6-7
Taber W.R. Myers Girls (and Boys who are not league members)

Feb. 13-14
Magrath Girls


11 League Teams In Second Official Alberta Schools Athletic Association Provincial Varsity Basketball Rankings

There are four official rankings this season. The second came out on January 19.

Rankings are used to help determine wildcard berths by zone (we are in the South Zone), plus provincial championships seeding.

The top-15 teams in each category are ranked by committees composed of ASAA folk around the province. For publication purposes ASAA releases 11-15 in ALPHABETICAL order listed as Honourable Mentions (HM), although the ranking committees know the real order.


(4) LCI
(7) Magrath
(9) Cardston


(2) Cardston
(5) Raymond
(9) Medicine Hat
(10) Chinook
(HM) Catholic Central


(1) W.R. Myers
(2) Magrath
(5) Winston Churchill

Complete ranking lists are available through our ASAA link.



Schedule Notes - Including WEATHER MOVES


Magrath at W.R. Myers Girls originally scheduled for Wednesday, January 7, has been RESCHEDULED TO WEDNESDAY, JANUARY 28.

Medicine Hat at Winston Churchill Boys originally scheduled for Tuesday, January 6, has been RESCHEDULED TO THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 5.


Catholic Central has two campuses. League games can be played at either.

For scheduled 2014-15 games:

All Girls games are at Campus East (South Side)

Boys games are as follows:

Dec. 3, Cardston at Catholic Central - Campus East
Dec. 18, Medicine Hat at Catholic Central - Campus East
Jan. 15, LCI at Catholic Central - Campus East
Feb. 12, Winston Churchill at Catholic Central - Campus East
Feb. 14, Magrath at Catholic Central - Campus East
Feb. 28, Chinook at Catholic Central - Campus West
Mar. 6, Raymond at Catholic Central - Campus West

So, overall, the only scheduled league games for Campus West are Chinook and Raymond Boys visits. [>>]


2014-15 Season Thumbnail Sketch

News is filling the site. Please explore.

Please be aware the Schedules section is scrupulously maintained, but is not the official schedule of the loop and may at times not be 100 percent up-to-date.

The 2014-15 regular season runs through March 7. The boys teams play each other twice, while girls are re-seeded into Division A and Division B varsity divisions (with JV teams playing corresponding school opponents) for the last two weeks of the campaign.

There are no varsity league playoffs. Varsity teams go directly their respective South Zone Championships.

All varsity boys league members must declare 4A in the Alberta Schools Athletic Association now, by unanimous league vote. (The official name of the league is the Southern Alberta High School 4A Boys Basketball League.)

This season on the girls' side, Cardston, Catholic Central, Chinook, LCI, Medicine Hat High and Raymond girls are 4A; Magrath, Winston Churchill and W.R. Myers are 3A; while Kate Andrews are 2A.

Boys and girls junior varsity league playoffs are held during the March 9-14 varsity South Zone Championship week.

The 4A zones and JV playoffs start out at higher seed schools, then proceed to the University of Lethbridge 1st Choice Savings Centre.

The 3A girls zones are hosted by Winston Churchill, while 2A girls zones are part of the 1A/2A extravaganza at Lethbridge College's Val Matteotti Gym.

W.R. Myers host 3A girls provincials March 19-21.

The league all-star games and individual awards night caps the calendar Wednesday, March 25, at U of L. [>>]


Welcome to the Southern Alberta High School Basketball League webpage. Please tour the site which includes schedules, standings, stories, team stats, player stats and links. Information will be updated as received.

 LCI Rams @
 Cardston Cougars (SVB)
90 - 81
 LCI Rams @
 Cardston Wildcats (JVB)
68 - 81
 Magrath Pandas @
 WR Myers Rebels (SVG)
37 - 51
 Magrath Pandas @
 WR Myers Rebels (JVG)
47 - 52
 More Scores >>
 Lethbridge Herald Sports
 Canada Basketball
 Basketball Alberta