Southern Alberta High School Basketball League : Headlines

Mini 2017-18 Season Guide

January 17, 2018

No major changes in the Southern Alberta High School 4A Boys Basketball League this regular season.

All varsity programs must go 4A provincially (even though only three of eight are by size) to be league members.

The league is comprised of the same eight programs - Cardston, Catholic Central, Chinook, LCI, Magrath, Medicine Hat High, Raymond and Winston Churchill - as recent years.

All eight have entered varsity and junior varsity teams, who will each play a double-round robin regular season slate.

There are changes in the nine-member Southern Alberta High School Girls Basketball League however.

Winston Churchill have taken a one-season leave from varsity girls, with Chinook taking a leave from JV girls. As well, teams in JV and varsity will play a double-round robin regular season table, a change from going to Division A and B after the first go-round in recent seasons. So, a significant increase in girls regular season game numbers.

As well, in the girls' varsity loop, schools do not have to go 4A if their population numbers don't dictate they must.

4A by size Catholic Central, Chinook and Medicine Hat High are once again joined by Cardston, LCI and Raymond in 4A. As well, Magrath have declared-up to 4A for 2017-18. W.R Myers and Winston Churchill (who will have a varsity team, but they won't play in the league) are going 3A.

The regular season concludes March 3.

There are JV league playoffs, but varsity teams go directly to Alberta Schools Athletic Association South Zone Championships that same week, March 5-10.

ASAA Provincials are set for March 15-17.

The league varsity all-star games and individual awards night will be hosted by Chinook to cap the campaign on March 21.

 More Scores >>
 Lethbridge Herald Sports
 Canada Basketball
 Basketball Alberta